Christmas ‘shrooms.

1-DSC_0007

Fog falls on red clay.

It is snowing in Georgia,

silent Christmas day.

Christmas lights

Happy Christmas!

I woke up this morning to the sound of father-Santa wrapping last minute presents. It was early, and still dark outside, but heady scents of hazelnut coffee and Grandma Lorena’s English Muffin bread turned down the sheets and got me out of bed. I gave my dad a kiss on the cheek and went for a run before anyone else was up. It was drizzling and cool. Through lit windows, I noticed people gathering around Christmas trees or plucking presents from garage hiding spots. It was a wonderful experience of the Christmas sentimental-voyeuristic spirit.

going to grandmoher's house

And to think that just a week ago, in the midst of finals, I was debating how long I could re-wear my last clean pair of underwear.

I decided not to grace you with any recipes from that time because, well, it would have looked like this almost-published entry:

Tasks like making dinner have become foreign gobbledygook that my brain (which is currently the consistency of mashed potatoes) has trouble comprehending. As a result, I eat my food raw. I don’t use bowls. Who has time to wash bowls? A couple days ago, I invented the bowl-less salad; or, in laymen’s terms, I ate a whole head of lettuce, turkey leg style.

Because this sounded too much like a weird Renaissance Fair episode of the Twilight Zone, I had pity on myself– I turned in my anthropology thesis, took an exam, and got back home to Georgia.

Oh, to eat food on a plate.

1-DSC_0009whole wheat rosemary flatbread

1-DSC_0006

Wonderful creations have come from the kitchen since returning home, namely my mom’s mushroom soup. Nothing is more civilized than a creamy, meaty mushroom soup drizzled in black truffle oil, topped with a poached egg, and served with homemade flatbread. This soup is ridiculously flavorful, easy to make (especially with my new Christmas immersion blender(!)), gluten-free, and vegetarian friendly. And it’s light; you won’t feel like you just consumed a quart of cream as you might with a cream-based soup.

Kelly’s ‘Shroom Soup

serves five.

1 lb  mushrooms, roughly chopped
1  onion
2 cloves of garlic
16 oz.  beef or vegetable stock
pinch of anchovy paste
salt and pepper, to taste
1/2 tsp  cayenne pepper
1/4 c  cream cheese
1 c  2% or whole milk

In a medium stock pot, sautée mushrooms and onions on medium heat until golden. Add garlic just before caramelization finishes. Add stock, anchovy paste, salt and pepper, and cayenne. Let simmer for 10 minutes.

Continuously stirring, add cream cheese and milk until there are no lumps. Turn to low heat and let simmer for 10 minutes. With a handy dandy immersion blender or food processor, blend soup until mushrooms become subtle bits of flavor. Garnish with truffle oil and serve with poached egg and bread.

4 thoughts on “Christmas ‘shrooms.

Leave a Reply

